Adding 5500PACA to existing system

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wired Hardware' started by IanCun, Feb 25, 2015.

1. IanCun

IanCun

Hi folks,

After some helpful advice in another thread about moving/adding a switch, I bought a 5500PACA Pascal Automation Controller. Mainly as it will let me program the system via the toolkit, but also I can start to use logic once I get to grips with programming the system. I've never worked on C-Bus before tackling the switch move.

I just wanted to check about connecting the 5500PACA to my existing system. Here's the current box layout of 5 dimmers, which connect to the lighting system via a network socket below the consumer boxes:

Old.png

Here's a photo of the bottom of those dimmer units:

Dimmer.jpg

Am I correct in thinking that I can simply add the 5500PACA in series with the dimmer units, as shown in my diagram below. It'll be a piece of cake if that's all I need to do, before getting in to programming :).

5500PACA.png

Cheers,
    Ian

IanCun, Feb 25, 2015
  2. IanCun

jboer

Yes pretty much!

Just remember when you are using the PAC as a PCI (Programming interface) it will interrupt and stop it's logic engine and schedules ect, while you are connected through it.

jboer, Feb 25, 2015
  3. IanCun

IanCun

Excellent! :D Thanks for the advice.

Is it easy enough to download the existing programming and back it up within the toolbox software, just in case I bugger it up? ;)

IanCun, Feb 25, 2015
  4. IanCun

IanCun

It arrived this morning and I've just spend the past hour installing it :). Connected it up fine and backed up the project to the Toolkit! Thanks for the help :D.

I'm just trying to figure out how to sort all of the names now that I've downloaded all of the programming. Is there a guide to see how to identify the switches/lights? I'm reading through the Basics Training Manual v2, but haven't seen this mentioned yet.

CBUS.jpg

IanCun, Feb 28, 2015
  5. IanCun

tsman