Compact Fluro's On Dimmer Unit

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wired Hardware' started by muppets, Nov 8, 2007.

1. muppets

muppets

Having read through everything I can find in the forum I am still left with the question are compact fluro's safe to use with an 8ch dimmer unit? Furthermore if the unit is set up for dimming as per normal (long press ramp up/down) will the unit get hurt?

The reason I ask this is for the idiot factor of someone replacing a lamp with a compact fluro and not realising the light is on a dimmer circuit.

OK that's not the real reason .....but it was a good one. I like most other new home builders have strict energy efficiency requirements to adhere to. I want to put compacts in for the inspection and change them out the day after - fluro light while high in lumen output is very ugly and expensive to dim over the 23 circuits i am running.

I don't have any concern spending more on power and spent lights - as a mine electrician I feel comfortable I am keeping miners' job safe burning up resources and energy. Someone has to keep the resource boom alive with all the rant and rave about global warming. If the government was really serious about producing green energy we would have started building nuclear stations years ago.

Not to mention the bloody huge windows I had to install to meet ventillation and light codes, this meant I had to add at least a couple of kw to the central a/c unit. But hey think of all the power we save by not having to have those 3 60W lights working for that 1 hour a day. Does the minister for environment visit this forum?

Sorry for the rant but I get riled up about the crap that comes out of the politicians in canberra - wouldn't mind seeing the total energy consumed per poly against that of the general public!

muppets, Nov 8, 2007
  2. muppets

amberelectrics