dim lights at night

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by zx9, Jul 9, 2012.

  1. zx9

    zx9

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    just got a pac and would like to do the following;

    -between 11pm-7am PIR turns on bathroom light @ 50%, between 7-9am 100%+wall lights, and the rest of the time just the time as is. 100% bathroom light.

    -also my alarm currently has a welcome scene which turns on some lights, how can i make it so they only come on when dark.

    thanks
     
    zx9, Jul 9, 2012
    #1
  2. zx9

    tobex

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    There are two ways to measure night.

    a) Time server - Sunrise / Sunset

    b) Light sensor

    Just thought I would throw that in.
     
    tobex, Jul 9, 2012
    #2
  3. zx9

    mdooher

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dunedin NZ
    In English ...once alarm disarmed and time is greater than sunset and less than sunrise set lighting state to whatever.

    I do exactly this with my PAC.

    Have a go, I can post my code if you like...when I'm not drinking Haagen and typing on my iPad

    Matthew
     
    mdooher, Jul 9, 2012
    #3
  4. zx9

    zx9

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    thanks however...

    thanks however as i am unfamiliar with the pac and assume there is multiple ways to archive this i was looking for the best way advice, and yes some code would be great too. so far i've played with the pac schedules but not actually written any code modules.

    thanks
     
    zx9, Jul 10, 2012
    #4
  5. zx9

    mdooher

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dunedin NZ
    Others may have different ideas but I would say since you have a PAC logic is the way to go.

    This might be a nice simple bit of code to start with
    Obviously you need to change the labels like "Courtyard" to the group addresses that match your system. Instead of the two set lighting state lines you can have a SetScene command.

    {Turn on Some Lights when House is disarmed after dark}
    once (GetBoolIBSystemIO("Security Armed State") = False) //ie at the moment the system disarms
    then
    if ((time > Sunset) or (time < Sunrise))then // if it is between sunset and midnight or midnight and sunrise
    begin
    SetLightingState("Courtyard", ON);
    SetLightingState("Kitchen Island Over", ON);
    end;

    You can probably use the wizard to make something even easier like say turning on two set of lights when when you turn off another. You could then edit the result to get something closer to what you really want....

    or there are lots of people on this forum who will help you out

    Matthew
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 10, 2012
    mdooher, Jul 10, 2012
    #5
  6. zx9

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Try this:

    Code:
    once GetLightingState("PIR") = ON then
    begin
      if (time > "11:00PM") or (time < "7:00AM") then
      begin
        SetLightingLevel("Bathroom", 50%, "0s");
      end
      else if (time >= "7:00AM") and (time < "9:00AM") then
      begin
        SetLightingState("Bathroom", ON);
        SetLightingState("Wall", ON);
      end
      else
      begin
        SetLightingState("Bathroom", ON);
      end
    end;
    
    once GetLightingState("PIR") = OFF then
    begin
      SetLightingState("Bathroom", OFF);
      SetLightingState("Wall", OFF);
    end;
    The PIR controls a group which is then acted upon by the logic to control the bathroom and wall lights.
     
    Darren, Jul 10, 2012
    #6
  7. zx9

    Ingo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Africa
    A PAC is a nice piece of kit, once you are hooked you will be toying around with it for days/weeks on end.

    With some of the examples above you could also try to randomise the switch-on and switch-off times. I do that within a 30 minute window around sunset/sunrise.

    Ingo
     
    Ingo, Jul 10, 2012
    #7
  8. zx9

    poldim

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Does the pac provide any features above and beyond the wiser router cni combo?
     
    poldim, Jul 11, 2012
    #8
  9. zx9

    Newman

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    The PAC has a 12V input that can be connected to an external source such as a battery. By utilising this the PAC can preserve it's real-time clock almost indefinitely if there is a power failure, meaning that your C-Bus network won't lose it's time.

    The PAC has 2x RS-232 ports for connecting to 3rd party equipment such as AV equipment, HVAC, etc. This requires the 24V input to be connected to a 24V source.

    If you use the Wiser as the programming interface to your C-Bus network for things like Toolkit, then all the internal Wiser features/functions, including logic, cannot access the C-Bus network during this time. By putting the logic in a PAC you don't have to worry about the logic not working if you use the Wiser as your C-Bus network interface for programming.
     
    Newman, Jul 11, 2012
    #9
  10. zx9

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    If you are familiar with the wiser product, then the PAC has similar capabilities, but without any Ethernet related features (router, web server, CNI TCP/IP connection). In addition, it has some serial ports which can be controlled from logic.
     
    Darren, Jul 12, 2012
    #10
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.