Help, please! LED lamps & dimmer tripping

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wired Hardware' started by Darrensmithctsa, Apr 14, 2014.

1. Darrensmithctsa

Darrensmithctsa

Hi all

Really hoping you can help me here (Cape Town, South Africa). Just did a new install and powered up a Cbus network for first time and have had some problems with lamps I'm hoping someone can help with. I'm a noob, so would appreciate as much plain English for dummies as possible.

Outline of system:

7 Clipsal NEO switches (5058NL)
    1 Clipsal Cbus 4 channel relay (no power supply - was not being used at time of problem described below but was on network)
    1 Clipsal Cbus 12 channel relay (with power supply)
    1 Clipsal Cbus 8 channel dimmer L5508D1AP (no power supply)
    1 Clipsal Cbus PC interface
    8 Hager 2amp breakers for 8 channels on dimmer
    6 10amp breakers for 12 channel relay (2 channels per breaker)
    10amp breakers for the relays and dimmer (each has own breaker)

See attached pic for pic of board & dimmer.

Using the system with the following lamps - dimmable Earth Power Black Max LED lights (50w halogen replacement) - http://capetown.olx.co.za/pictures/earth-power-energy-solutions-iid-620808271 (3rd row, 2nd from left ? GU10-5W). It?s a 220v system, have 220v lamp holders. I believe the Black Max lamps are dimmable and leading edge (that's what I was told). I have probably close to 45 on the Cbus system.

Problem:

We connected everything up. Started turning on channels on dimmer and some lights came on, carried on turning on more channels and then a pop in the dimmer unit and lights off, breaker down. Reset breaker, tried again, got through a couple of channels and pop in the unit and lights off, breaker down. Noticed some lamps had blown.