How to Broadcast Temperature onto a DLT?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by XHPBT1, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. XHPBT1

    XHPBT1

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Just got my hands on a Temperature sensor 5031RDTSL can someone tell me how to send that temperature reading to a DLT or Wiser.

    Just simply reading the Temperature from any DLT or in the Wiser interface on the Iphone.

    cheers
     
    XHPBT1, Jul 7, 2010
    #1
  2. XHPBT1

    NickD Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,427
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Adelaide
    You can't display it on a DLT natively.. the best you could do at present is to
    - set the temperature sensor to the measurement application
    - use logic in the wiser to read the measurement, convert it to a string and broadcast this as a label on one of the DLT keys... a bit sucky IMO.

    As for the Wiser/iPhone interface
    - the only widget that will natively display the temperature from the 5031RDTSL is the Climate Control Widget. If all you want to do is display temperature, there's a lot of extra crap there you don't need... so it's a bit clunky. Also, I'm not sure if the Climate Control widget is supported in the v1.0.00 Wiser iPhone app.
    - the other way to do it is to use the temperature sensor on the measurement application, and display the value as SystemIO. Again... the real SystemIO widget is a bit clunky if all you're doing is reading a value, so I would convert it to a string and display it that way. Unfortunately I don't think SystemIO are supported in the v1.0.00 Wiser iPhone app.

    Hopefully the new version of the Wiser iPhone app should be out before too long and most of these problems will be solved.

    Nick
     
    NickD, Jul 7, 2010
    #2
  3. XHPBT1

    XHPBT1

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane
    why does it have to be so complicated?

    would you have the code for broadcasting it to the DLT?
     
    XHPBT1, Jul 8, 2010
    #3
  4. XHPBT1

    NickD Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,427
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Adelaide
    A fair question..

    For the DLT - it was simply never intended to display generic information like this.

    For the Wiser - Wiser is a new interface into C-Bus, and is built on many years of groundwork done in other devices like CTouch, Homegate, PAC etc.

    Every function that's supported in these products requires work to add support in Wiser.. The Wiser development team have done a hell of a lot of work to deliver what they have so far, but there's still a lot to do, so it's a matter of priorities.

    The upcoming version of the iPhone app adds support for quite a few new things, but it still won't cover everything.

    Code:
    { Don't do this too often or you'll flood the bus  - once a minute should be enough}
    once (Second = 0) then
     begin
    
      { Read the temperature from the sensor into real variable "Temperature"
      The sensor needs to be on the Measurement App, and added to the Measurement Manager
      In the Code below, it is on the network "Training Board", Device 0, Channel 1 }
      Temperature := GetRealIBSystemIO("Measurement App Real Value", "Training Board", 0, 1);
    
      { Convert the real number to a string "TempString", using 4 characters }
      Format(StringTemp, Temperature:4);
    
      { Set the label for "Group 0", on application "Lighting", on Network "Training Board", to the string previously constructed }
      SetStringIBSystemIO("Label Group Text", "Training Board", "Lighting", "Group 0", 0, StringTemp);
     end;
    
     
    NickD, Jul 9, 2010
    #4
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.