Quick check of lights ON

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wiser 1 Controller' started by adgilcan, Nov 28, 2010.

  1. adgilcan

    adgilcan

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reading UK
    I want to be able to quickly check and see which, if any, lights are on in the property.

    I am using Wiser and the iphone app.

    I could manually add all 100 lights to wiser and trawl through them to see their state but I wondered if there was a smarter way to do it.

    Does anyone know of a way to display which addresses are ON?

    I can't really see how it would be done with Wiser which is a little clunky but I thought I'd ask the question of the many experts here.

    Many thanks
     
    adgilcan, Nov 28, 2010
    #1
  2. adgilcan

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    You can do it with a bit of logic:
    1. Create a Scene with every group in it.
    2. Add some code to regularly check whether all the groups in the scene are off, and use that to set a group address or a User System IO variable.
    3. Add a Widget to show the state of the above item.

    The logic could be something like:

    Code:
    SetLightingState("All Groups Are Off", GetSceneLevel("All Groups") = 0);
    delay(2);
    In this case, group "All Groups Are Off" will be set to on if all of the groups in the All Groups scene are at level 0. The 2 second delay is there so that you aren't executing the code every scan. Checking the level of 100 groups on every scan places an unnecessary load on the processor.
     
    Darren, Nov 28, 2010
    #2
  3. adgilcan

    adgilcan

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reading UK
    Thank you Darren

    That is certainly one way to go and I was thinking along similar lines.

    What would be nice is some kind of dynamic environment where, in the GUI of the iphone/ colour touch/ PC screen, any lights that were off were hidden and any that were on showed themselves. That way you would know not only that lights were on but which ones too.

    Is that beyond the capability of CBus just now?
     
    adgilcan, Nov 29, 2010
    #3
  4. adgilcan

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    On a colour C-Touch, you could have an array of icons where the ones which are off are invisible.
     
    Darren, Nov 30, 2010
    #4
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.