Read DLT text in logic

Discussion in 'C-Touch/HomeGate/SchedulePlus/PICED Software' started by Dave Byron, Jan 20, 2010.

  1. Dave Byron

    Dave Byron

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Casurina
    Help
    I want to read the DLT text of Groups in the Lighting App,
    what is the syntax ??

    pic 1 shows the tree layout
    pic 2 what i have tried

    Help Darren



    tks
    dave
     

    Attached Files:

    Dave Byron, Jan 20, 2010
    #1
  2. Dave Byron

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    You have the right syntax, but you are reading the Action Selector label for "variant" 1.

    The syntax is :

    Code:
    GetStringIBSystemIO("Label Action Selector Text", <network>, <app>, <Group>, <Level/Action Selector>, <variant>, <string variable>);
     
    Darren, Jan 20, 2010
    #2
  3. Dave Byron

    Dave Byron

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Casurina
    Tks Darren
    But what should the variant number be, have tried 0 to 10 with same result, always says "level 0" not "Bi air Con"

    more help
    tks

    dave
     
    Dave Byron, Jan 20, 2010
    #3
  4. Dave Byron

    NickD Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,427
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Hi Dave,

    What you are seeing is the default value.. which means that PICED/Homegate/S+ or whatever you are using was not online when the label was originally broadcast on the network.

    The logic function does not actually extract the information from the network.. it relies on seeing the label broadcast and saving it, just like a DLT doesn't get labelled if it's not connected to the network when the label is broadcast from Toolkit.

    HTH,

    Nick
     
    NickD, Jan 20, 2010
    #4
  5. Dave Byron

    Dave Byron

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Casurina
    Nickd
    Assumed Piced reading if from the Toolkit database, cause it shows the DLT from the top of tree for a group when not online ie "B1 Air Con Control"
    It does not matter now as found I count write to the database which is what I was looking for, thought I use Darrens code to do it.

    Onto Plan B

    tks
    dave
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 20, 2010
    Dave Byron, Jan 20, 2010
    #5
  6. Dave Byron

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    You must have had PICED connected to C-Bus when that label was transmitted from ToolKit.
     
    Darren, Jan 20, 2010
    #6
  7. Dave Byron

    Dave Byron

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Casurina
    Darren
    Just have Piced running on PC, not online.
    Would it make a difference if Toolkit running at same time ??

    so "label group text" = "tagname" from database and
    "tagvalue" comes off the wire


    dave
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 20, 2010
    Dave Byron, Jan 20, 2010
    #7
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.