What system to go with?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Jksgoh, Oct 20, 2024 at 6:05 AM.

1. Jksgoh

Jksgoh

Hi everyone,

I am new to home automation and was hoping to get some advice. Please excuse me if I use the wrong terms.

I have recently moved into a new house which I’ve been told (and looks like) it has all the c-bus wiring installed. The house was built about 5 years ago. But the original owner never actually set up a system to control it.

I have gotten a few quotes and their advice and prices seem to vary quite a bit. We have a quote for an elan, control 4, and wiser 2.

I am completely at a loss as to what system I should go with? They all seem to claim to do what I want, but the elan and control installers say wiser 2 is not good? Any truth to this?

What I want to do is:
    - Control lights / themes
    - Control heating / cooling (Fujitsu)
    - control curtains
    - integrate security system (inner range integriti)
    - integrate video surveillance (hik-vision)
    - control garage doors (4d doors)
    - control driveway gate (faac)
    - control pedestrian front gate (rosslare)

im not too fussed if my video surveillance can’t be integrated as the hik app seems ok.

With the Wiser 2, the person who gave me a quote said he could do most of that except the aircon. He was saying that there is no way to integrate the aircon?

Elan and control 4 installers both said they would need to change the inner range integriti system to something else? Can the integriti really not work with these systems? Can it work with wiser 2?

additionally the wiser 2 installer said he would be able to do things like turn on lights if the hik cameras picked up a sound at a certain level for a certain amount of time, which I thought would be quite useful.

Thanks in advance,

Jeremy

Jksgoh, Oct 20, 2024 at 6:05 AM
  2. Jksgoh

Diggerz

I think this thread sums it up quite well in the beginning and the final post ( ignore the bickering in the middle ).