WITS END - HELP NEEDED - UNITS NOT FOUND AND/OR NOT RESPONDING

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wired Hardware' started by pm123456, Dec 23, 2023.

1. pm123456

pm123456

Hi everyone,

firstly, i am a complete novice with CBUS. We purchased a home that (unfortunately so far) already had CBUS lighting installed throughout. We have had constant issues with 2 particular 4 gang wall switches.

The current issue is that both 4 gang switches have all 4 indicator lights illuminated in solid red and are currently non functional. So when you attempt to turn a light off or on, it does nothing. Just all 4 switches stay illuminated with the solid red indicators.

1 of the 4 gang switches will work temporarily for a few days, but then one day i will go to turn on a light, and rather than turn the light on, all 4 switches just light up with the solid red indicator on.

i have downloaded the cbus toolkit and opened the network (i dont have a copy of the original database). The issue is, the 2 wall switches in question do not appear on the network scan. 1 of them may appear infrequently, with the message 'unit not responding' next to it. i have been able to open it once or twice but then it either disappears from the network altogether or remains with the 'unit not responding' error. The other wall switch does not appear at all, no matter how many times i scan the network.

i have checked the clock and burden, and it appears to be set correctly. I have 30.4v so i assume adequate power supply.

i just cannot work out if the issue is both 4 gang switches are faulty and need to be replaced or if something else is going on.

What does it mean when all 4 indicator lights remain solid and is anyone able to offer any tech advice in layman terms that i will be understand in toolkit?

pm123456, Dec 23, 2023
  2. pm123456

lcrowhurst

Firstly I think on this forum you should have started off by saying FORTUNATELY I have CBus installed in my home.